Warwickshire Complete Cup Hat-Trick!!!

In almost perfect cricketing conditions at The County Ground, Northampton, Warwickshire Bears secured the BBS Primary Club Heindrich Swanepoel Memorial Cup for the third year in a row with an 8 wicket win against Sussex Sharks.


The day started with a minutes applause in honour of Heindrich Swanepoel, the England legend the cup was renamed in honour of, as this was the first final since Hein’s tradgic passing. A brand new cup trophy bearing Heindrich’s name was also unvaled shortly before Warwickshire won the toss & sent Sussex in to bat.


Si Ledwith & Joe Harrison got Sharks innings off to a flying start, racing to 66/0 part way through the 9th over, before Ledwith was caught by Ryan Leighton for 19 from the bowling of Justin Hollingsworth. This triggered a calamitus collapse that saw the rest of Sussex’s top 5 dismissed adding just 26 further runs. Joe Harrison made it to 44 before he fell as Luke Sugg claimed 2 wickets & Hollingsworth added 2 more to his tally. Toby Collins tried to start a fight back & shared a partnership of 18 with Andy Dalby-Welsh but when Ryan Leighton removed them both as well as Marcus Kippling, all within 9 runs of each other, Sussex were floundering at 119/8. Collins was the third player caught by the impressive Hassan Ali & Adrian Snelgrove’s sharp catch to remove Dalby-Welsh was also worth a mention.


Robin Williams battled for 8 from 25 balls before he was out bowled (the only player in the match not to be caught), leaving Justin Hollingsworth to complete the first 5 wicket cup final haul since 2001 as Mark Burchell provided a second catch for Andy Powers. Sussex were all out for 131 with Justin Hollingsworth (5-28), Ryan Leighton (3-10) & Luke Sugg (2-32) sharing the wickets.


Warwickshire showed some early nerves as Si Ledwith held two good catches after edges from Justin Hollingsworth & Nathan Foy to give Mark Burchell & Joe Harrison a wicket each. However that was as good as it got for the south-coast side, from 33/2 Andy Powers (59 not out) & Luke Sugg (39 not out) shared a 99 run partnership filled with powerful striking & swift running to see the Bears home with 12.2 overs to spare.

After his tremendous bowling effort Justin Hollingsworth was named Partially Sighted Man of the Match, with Nathan Foy claiming the B1 award.


After collecting the trophy from Northants CCC fast bowler Lee Daggett, Warwickshire captain

Luke Sugg dedicated his side’s win to Heindrich.


Our thanks go of course to the Primary Club, without whose support blind cricket wouldn’t exist in it’s current form & the BBS cup wouldn’t be the longest running blind cricket competition in the world.


We would also like to thank David Smith, his team at Northants CCC & all the volunteers who made the day so successful.